Agrarian Commons

With 400 million acres of land in the United States expected to change hands over the next two decades, the time for transformation in land ownership is now.

The Agrarian Commons is a necessary and innovative land-ownership model that addresses the current realities of how land is owned, how tenure and equity are conveyed, and how land stewardship is carried out. This model challenges corporate and large-scale agriculture land-ownership models and offers a new, sustainable approach for the small farmer.

Interactive Map of the Agrarian Commons

Local Agrarian Commons

To find out where each Agrarian Commons is in their development, choose from the below list. You can learn about founding farms and farmers, community partners, board structure, legal documents, fundraising status, demographic information, and more.

Capay Valley California

Central Virginia


Little Jubba Central Maine

Middle Tennessee



New Hampshire

Puget Sound

Southwest Virginia


West Virginia

Agrarian Trust and our partners are creating the local Agrarian Commons through establishing 501(c)(2) and 501(c)(25) landholding entities to support land access and tenure for the next generation of farmers.

The founding Boards of Directors for the first ten Agrarian Commons are 58 percent women, 63 percent farmers, and 85 percent local to the regions each Agrarian Commons serves.

Here are some photos of different Agrarian Commons throughout the United States:

More information about the Agrarian Commons: