Agrarian Commons



An Agrarian Commons is:

  • a nonprofit landholding entity
  • governed locally, with all decisions made by a board that includes representatives of Agrarian Trust, and local partners and stakeholders
  • centered in community
  • dedicated to the preservation of farming, farmland, and localized food systems

Each Agrarian Commons holds land in communities for:

  • Ecological, restorative agriculture and community building
  • Land access and land justice for next generation farmers
  • Long-term lease tenure and equity interest for farmers and ranchers
  • Stewardship and ecosystem investment
  • Viability of farms, ranches, and local agrarian economies
Below is a visual introduction to the structure of the Agrarian Commons model which has 6 elements: Farms, Farmers, Local Community, Donors, a Commons Board and Agrarian Trust.

Comparing Structures: Why this Model is Different

Below are two visual explanations of how the Agrarian Trust/Agrarian Commons model is different from other land trusts. This visual comparison portrays how the Agrarian Commons is able to operate holistically in several unique ways; collective stewardship for ecosystem health, local governance, long term security, and tenure with a commitment to race, class and gender equity.